Support in the Aftermath of Hurricane Harvey

Support Options

If you would like to help support the relief effort in the aftermath of Hurricane Harvey, United Way is a great option!

The United Way of Waco-McLennan County encourages you to direct your support through the United Way Relief Fund. The United Way has reported that the devastation will be great and the community will need incredible resources to recover. Funds will first cover fundamental needs like food and shelter. After the community is stabilized, they will focus on long-term recovery efforts.

Disaster volunteers are also needed.

American Red Cross is seeking volunteers. Volunteer positions include warehousing, shelter management, supply distribution and administrative support. Those interested in volunteering can register at

Volunteer Houston is connecting individuals with disaster volunteer opportunities. To learn more, visit

To support the Southeast Texas community through local McLennan County agencies, please visit:

For additional questions, please call UWWMC Director of Campaigns & Community Engagement, Mary Beth Kauk at 254-752-2753.



Hurricane Harvey Resources from TEA


The Texas Education Agency has created a central hub for districts and campuses to get information regarding Hurricane Harvey. TEA's goal is to assist school districts experiencing the effects of the hurricane by providing timely information and support.


Access the website for announcements, school nutrition and meals information and frequently asked questions.


View TEA's Hurricane Harvey Resource Site >

Central Texas Educators honored at ESC Region 12’s Celebration Luncheon

Award WinnersEducation Service Center (ESC) Region 12 hosted a luncheon honoring 31 regional nominees and the Region 12 Teachers, Superintendent and School Board of the Year winners Wednesday, Aug. 8.

This year’s Region 12 Superintendent of the Year is Dr. Marc Faulkner of China Spring ISD. Faulkner said his award is more of a district-wide recognition.

“I really think we should change the award to the school district of the year, because if it wasn’t for my cabinet and the people who work with me in the Central office this award wouldn’t be possible,” he said. “I’d also include our China Spring ISD students, teachers and school board in this. It’s certainly is a whole district award more so than it is an individual superintendent award.”

Deborah DeGraff of Bell’s Hill Elementary in Waco ISD was honored as the Region 12 Elementary Teacher of the Year and Craig Sullivan of Belton High School in Belton ISD as the Region 12 Secondary Teacher of the Year.

The Killeen ISD school board was recognized as the School Board of the Year and Board President Terry Delano spoke at the ceremony on behalf of the board.

“To be able to serve our kids and community is an incredible honor. We have a very diverse board and though we haven’t always agreed on every decision, at the end of the day we always agree on doing what is best for our schools. Thank you for this recognition,” Delano said.

While the award winners are chosen by independent panels, ESC Region 12 Executive Director Dr. Jerry Maze said it is service center’s role to recognize and celebrate the finalists and winners.

“It is our pleasure here at ESC Region 12 to celebrate excellence in education,” Maze said. “Here in Region 12 schools, that includes a lot of great teachers, administrators and school board members. We are happy to recognize them with these awards and be a part of educating children in Region 12.”


For full bios on the award winners, go to

Download full resolution photos* here:


*Pictured with the winners and nominees is ESC Region 12 Executive Director, Dr. Jerry Maze and Dr. JR Proctor, Superintendent at Axtell ISD and Vice Chair of the Region 12 Superintendent Forum.



Superintendent of the Year

Dr. David Edison Aquilla ISD

Dr. Michael Hope Robinson ISD

Dr. Nate Carman Teague ISD




Elementary Teacher of the Year Finalists

Michelle Robinson High Point Elementary – Belton ISD Carrie Bevins China Spring Elementary – China Spring ISD Jennifer Bailey Connally Early Childhood Center – Connally ISD Robert Stroup Martin Walker Elementary – Copperas Cove ISD Tiffany Farmer Carroll Elementary – Corsicana ISD Kandy Faris Franklin Elementary – Hillsboro ISD Emily Craig Itasca Elementary – Itasca ISD Laura Young Nolanville Elementary – Killeen ISD Linda Lapierre Taylor Creek Elementary – Lampasas ISD Jalayne Rinewalt Castleman Creek Elementary – Midway ISD Susan Godfrey Robinson Primary – Robinson ISD Jennifer Winkler Thomas Arnold Elementary – Salado ISD Denise Williams Meridith-Dunbar Early Childhood Academy – Temple ISD Michelle Chandler Mays Elementary – Troy ISD Donna Burrow West Elementary – West ISD



Secondary Teacher of the Year Finalists

Amy Faulkner China Spring High School – China Spring ISD

Philip Peek Connally High School – Connally ISD

Janice Stalder Copperas Cove High School – Copperas Cove ISD

David Kasprzyk Corsicana High School – Corsicana ISD

John Robertson Hillsboro High School – Hillsboro ISD

Cassi Stapp Itasca High School – Itasca ISD

Barton Jacques Harker Heights High School – Killeen ISD

Jackie Villarreal Midway Middle School – Midway ISD

Amber Clemons Robinson Junior High – Robinson ISD

Kyra Mann Salado High School – Salado ISD

Erin Pitt Bonham Middle School – Temple ISD

Cynthia Guin Troy High School – Troy ISD

James Villa Tennyson Middle School – Waco ISD


School Boards of the Year

Killeen ISD Board of Trustees (More than 1,000 students)